2014 World Cup Groups Set

Early this morning, the groups for the 2014 World Cup Finals in Brazil were selected. As always there was a mixture of ‘groups of death’ and ‘groups of life’. As a reminder, the top 2 teams from each group will progress to knockout rounds of the tournament. The groups for the 2014 World Cup Finals are as followed:

Group A: Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon
Group B: Spain, Netherlands, Chile, Australia

Group C:
Colombia, Greece, Ivory Coast, Japan
Group D: Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy

Group E:
Switzerland, Ecuador, France, Honduras
Group F: Argentina, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran, Nigeria

Group G:
Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA
Group H: Belgium, Algeria, Russia, Korea Republic (South Korea)

There you have it, the group stages are set for the 2014 World Cup Finals!

Quick Info: 

  • Brazil will kick off the 2014 World Cup against Croatia on June 12th in Sao Paulo, Brazil.
  • Reigning World Cup champions Spain will face Netherlands in a rematch of the 2010 World Cup Final.
  • U.S. Mens National Team coach Jurgen Klinsmaan will face his native country Germany in the group stages.
  • Groups B, D, and G(USA’s group) are the hardest groups of the draw while the other five groups are more straightforward.
Sammy Mugharbil

Sammy Mugharbil

Sammy is Studying Sports Industry, Marketing, and Broadcast Journalism at Metro State University of Denver. He's an Intern with the Colorado Rapids Youth Academy, and a Volunteer for the Metro State Broadcast Network.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>